Home > Uncategorized > I miss the real Cartoons.

I miss the real Cartoons.

We all love cartoons, most of us still do. I remember coming back from school and getting a nice cup of hot chocolate and just anxiously waiting to go sit in front of the box shaped television so I could spend the rest of my day watching colorful characters entertaining me. “Ah, Those were the days” I tell myself everyday as I click past the TV channels aimlessly. “We have still got cartoons you silly boy” is what I’ve been often told. Yes we certainly do have cartoons but not even one of them is commendable or provides the same sort of amusement that the 90’s shows did.

All you see now on the television are 65 different cartoon channels but all repeating the same old boring shows, The cartoons do not have a plot, they do not have continuous prose. Who would want to see a boy becoming into ugly aliens? What’s the fun in watching weirdly shaped Japanese anime’s playing with cards that throw out creatures from another world? What is the point of watching a talking weasel that saves the day when he doesn’t even look like a weasel? I am a 90’s kid who grew up watchingย phenomenal shows like Ed, Edd and Eddy, Dexter’s Laboratory, Animaniacs, Cow and Chicken, Gargoyles, Duck Tales, Captain Planet, Pokemon (The originals), Dragon Ball Z, Inspector Gadget, Kenan and Kel, The Amanda Show, Johnny Bravo, 2 stupid dogs, Yogi Bear, The Flintstones,ย ย Scooby Doo, Jimmy Neutron, The Weekenders, Kim Possible, Courage the cowardly dog, Recess, X men and who can forgot the big daddy of them all – TOM AND JERRY? I could go on with my list forever but my basic point is, any kid from the 90’s would agree that these were without a doubt the best mix of cartoons and probably the best there will ever be. These were the only things we used to talk about in primary school, we used to watch them when our friends came over instead of offering them a free playstation like the kids of today. I don’t have anything against the modern cartoons but I see no charm, no learning, no fun in watching them. Yes there are surely some good ones like Spongebob Square Pants and Phineas & Ferb but they are nothing compared to all those legends a few lines above.

You see, as times progress, we as humans think that we are advancing in every possible way but what we really are doing is going a step back, missing the simple way of living and complicating things for ourselves. The other day, I decided to sit down with my little brother and watch shows like Good Luck Charlie, iCarly, Wizards of Waverly Place etc. I’ll be very honest, by the next 10 minutes, I was so pissed off that I decided to actually curse the people making that crap. Nothing in any of those shows was even close to being funny, Adding a laugh behind lame punch lines does not make something funny. What are these shows teaching the upcoming generation? How to dance with cake all over your face? How to answer back to your parents? How to get into the latest fashions and spend thousands on worthless things? It all just seems so wrong and will someone please tell me why all these new teenage Disney actors think they can sing? All of them have the same kind of voice and every time they just get up in the morning, move their faces around like a brainless monkey and scream out a few words. Wayheeeeyyy, There you have your next number one hit of the year, Congratulations you utter fool.

You might think I’m being a little too harsh but fairly, I die a little inside every time I don’t see what I used to see on my favorite cartoon channels 10 years ago. Yes I might be almost 18 now but you are never too old for cartoons and sketches, as a faithful fan to the best era that was the 90’s, I actually feel sorry for the children out there today who have to deal with all these new pointless excuses of a cartoon. I miss Johnny trying to get all the girls and failing miserably, I miss Eddy and his scams to get money, I miss the real Scooby Doo and his crew, I miss when Bulbasaur and Charmander were still by the side of Pikachu, I miss T.J and his events during recess, I miss Carl and his love for Llama’s, I miss Kel and his love for Orange Soda, I miss Josh and his fat belly, I miss Dee Dee pushing the “Do not touch” buttons, I miss Courage saying “Things I do for love”, I miss Fred and Bam Bam, I miss the woman without a face on Tom and Jerry, Heck I miss everything, I miss the real cartoons. Please bring them back, I’ll take back everything I said.

  1. Saad
    January 4, 2012 at 4:44 am

    ayee! i love the topic! i was thinking about writing something about it just this morning, till i came across seki’s article and i had to give that a piece of my mind aswell, haha anyways i couldnt have explained these noob cartoons any better ! its always fun to read your blog ! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • January 4, 2012 at 4:48 am

      Haha. Thanks man, I appreciate it. Glad it keeps your interest. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. January 4, 2012 at 5:01 am

    This is really great reflection…you can’t believe how i enjoyed this article…cos you mentioned Tom and Jerry….i have these whole episodes occupying my disk and need space but unable to delete….Great post….Thanks

    http://www.baahduodu.wordpress.com

    • January 4, 2012 at 5:03 am

      Thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed reading it.

  3. January 4, 2012 at 5:38 am

    wow!
    youre originality never fails to surprise me.
    Also i find the cartoons of today to be highly suggestive and spark consumption driven influences, who else tells 8 year olds to buy tubes of lip gloss?

  4. January 4, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    Nice list of cartoons. This post makes me miss the old days.

    • January 5, 2012 at 2:52 am

      Thank you. Does the same to me really. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. goshii
    January 5, 2012 at 6:30 am

    A job well done, my bwayyy! The cartoons of today are a mare piece of shit, the real deal was really the cartoons of the 90’s! ๐Ÿ˜€

  6. Michael
    January 5, 2012 at 7:12 am

    This is a great post. Thanks for the introduction. Best Regards.

    • January 5, 2012 at 7:19 am

      Thank you very much. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you liked it.

  7. Mahira
    January 5, 2012 at 8:19 am

    so true ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. January 5, 2012 at 2:02 pm

    As a lifelong cartoon fan, I agree completely. Today’s cartoons have no substance. Okay, I’m dating myself here, but let’s bring back the Jetson’s!

    • January 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      Ah, Can’t believe I forgot to mention The Jetson’s. What an amazing show that was. We need them back. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for reading.

  9. Reeba
    January 5, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    Yeah , I miss 80’s and 90’s cartoons and other shows. I miss Six Miklion Dollar Man , I miss Bionic Woman , I miss the Man from Atlantis , Gemini Man , Knight Rider , Mind Your Language , etc. etc. Thanks for reminding me .
    Lovely article, Amir !!

  10. January 6, 2012 at 1:33 pm

    Great article!

    Nice list of cartoons, brought back some nice memories and to that list I would add two of the greatest cartoons in my view….Thundercats and Dungeons and Dragons. Funny enough t.v have been airing the new Thundercats which my son and I have been watching, bit of a let down to be honest. I was excited by apart from better effects, the plot is weak, also the constant repeats means I seem to miss any new episodes.

    Cartoons today have some serious elements, a little too much. A few weeks back I played an episode of Superted and Banana Man on youtube for the kids, they loved it, simple, easy to follow and a real joy to watch.

    • January 7, 2012 at 6:46 am

      Thank you very much. I’ll have a look at the ones you mentioned, just the negative response of today’s cartoons doesn’t motivate me to go and check all of them out but I certainly will now, Just for the sake of some redemption. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. January 7, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Way back in the last century, I used to watch Mighty Mouse, Betty Boop, Popeye, and Felix the Cat. I always liked the cartoons that had songs and asked you to follow the bouncing ball and sing along. We always looked forward to Saturday morning cartoon time. I have watched some of the newer cartoons with my grandchild, but I like the older ones better. There’s something satisfying about seeing Wile E Coyote get his just desserts for trying to capture the Roadrunner.

  12. January 9, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    I read your cartoon post, loved it and went back and read all of your other ones. So much wisdom from one so young! Many of the posts seemed to be just what I needed to hear at the right time. You have a gift. I can see you’ve already touched many people with your words and insights. Starting so young, think of all the people you will be able to reach in your lifetime! Keep up the wonderful writing. I’ll be following.

    Oh, and by the way… I had to laugh. At the beginning of the post I was thinking… “Yeah! Bring back the old cartoons!” all the while thinking of Josie and the Pussycats, Bugs Bunny, The Flintsones, The Archies…. then you mentioned your list of “oldies, but goodies” – they were the “new” ones for me, most of which I’ve never watched! Keep us laughing and good luck with your endeavors.

    • January 10, 2012 at 6:08 am

      Thank you so very much. This is probably the best comment I’ve ever got and all I want to do is make a difference through what I’m writing. Making people think about certain aspects after they read what I wrote is just an amazing feeling. I really do appreciate you reading the articles. ๐Ÿ™‚
      I guess the cartoons do change from time to time. I haven’t really seen much of them which existed before the 90’s, maybe because they just weren’t on air anymore but I’d love for all of them to just come on TV again and lighten up the mood – You don’t get that from the ones in line today.
      Thanks again. I’ll be following you as well. Your comment certainly made my day!

  13. January 18, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    Took me time to read all the comments, but I actually enjoyed the post. It proved to become Extremely useful to me and I’m positive to all the commenters right here It’s always great when you can not only be informed, but also entertained I’m certain you had fun writing this post.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

